Department Directory

Alumni (Ph.D.)

adneyskScott Adney, Ph.D.
(Diomedes Logothetis, Ph.D.)
E-mail:  adneysk@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, October 2013

_MG_6246-Al-ShboulOthman Al-Shboul, Ph.D.
(Srinivasa Karnam, Ph.D.)
E-mail: alshboulo@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, April 2011

Mohammed_AlqudahMohammed Alqudah, Ph.D.
(John Grider, Ph.D.)
E-mail: alqudahma@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, April 2013

AluriHema Aluri, Ph.D.
(Edward Lesnefsky, Jr., M.D.)
E-mail: alurihs@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, April 2013

_MG_6446-Anderson

Charles Anderson, Ph.D.
(John Grider, Ph.D.)
E-mail: andersoncd2@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, April 2011

_MG_6278-Bakos_000Stephen Bakos, Ph.D.
(Richard Costanzo, Ph.D.)
E-mail: bakossr@vcu.edu Completed Requirements, November 2010

 

_MG_6407-Bednarek

Melissa Bednarek, Ph.D.
(Paul Ratz, Ph.D.)
E-mail: bednarekml@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, July 2009

Ashley L. Bennett, Ph.D.
(Scott Ramsey, Ph.D.)
E-mail: bennettal2@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, January 2020

bhattachars2

Sayak Bhattacharya, Ph.D. 
(Murthy Karnam, Ph.D.)
E-mail: bhattachars2@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, October 2012

KrasnodaraCameronKrasnodara Cameron
(De Felice Lab)
E-mail: stoychevakn@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, February 2015

connerymdMichael Connery, Ph.D.
(Roland Pittman, Ph.D.)
E-mail:  connerymd@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, October 2013
_MG_6578-Deng

Wu Deng, Ph.D. 
(Clive Baumgarten, Ph.D.)
E-mail: dengw@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, July 2009

desaipnPooja Desai, Ph.D. 
(Clive Baumgarten, Ph.D.)
E-mail: desaipn@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, April 2013
CandiceHatcherCandice Hatcher
(Diomedes Logothetis, Ph.D.)
E-mail: hatchercn@vcu.edu

 
  Divya Prasanna Kumar 
(Murthy Karnam, Ph.D/Arun Sanyal, M.D.))
E-mail: dprasannakum@vcu.edu
Completed Requirements, November 2014

 

V00232955_Li_Yan

Yan Li, Ph.D. 
(John Grider, Ph.D.)
E-mail: liy2@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, November 2009

rahul_mahajanRahul Mahajan, M.D., Ph.D. 
(Diomedes Logothetis, Ph.D.)
E-mail: mahajanr@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, October 2012

uzoma_mbaM. Uzoma Mba 
(Drs. Catherine Dumur and Vladimir Vladimirov.)
E-mail: mbamuu@vcu.edu
Completed Requirements, August 2014

_MG_6398-McClainJustin McClain, Ph.D. 
(Helen Fillmore, Ph.D.)
E-mail: mcclainja@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, April 2009

_MG_6556-ChaudhariNikita Mishra, Ph.D. 
(Scott Walsh, Ph.D.)
E-mail: chaudharina@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, May 2010

mousaaaAhmad Mousa, Ph.D. 
(Scott Walsh, M.D.)
E-mail: mousaaa@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, January 2012

Ancydimpy Nalli -- new
(S. Murthy Karnam, Ph.D.)
E-mail:  nallia@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, September 2015

 

_MG_6320-NugentWilliam Nugent, Ph.D. 
(Roland Pittman, Ph.D.)
E-mail: nugentwh@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, August 2010

LauraOBrienLaura O'Brien 

(James P. Bennett, M.D., Ph.D.)
E-mail: obrienl@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, April 2015


SungParkSung Park 
(Clive Baumgarten, Ph.D.)
E-mail: parksh@vcu.edu


vasileiospetrouVasileios Petrou , Ph.D. 
(Diomedes Logothetis, Ph.D.)
E-mail: vasileios.petrou@mssm.edu
(Degree awarded by Mt. Sinai, New York) Completed Requirements, July 2012

 

_MG_6504-PinkstaffSherry Pinkstaff, Ph.D. 
(Ross Arena, Ph.D.)
E-mail: pinkstaffso@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, May 2010

PollokRobert (Bob) Pollock, Ph.D.
(Leon Avery, Ph.D.)
E-mail:  rhpollock@gmail.com

Completed Requirements, May 2013

Aaron_RandolphAaron Randolph, Ph.D.
(I. Scott Ramsey, Ph.D.)
E-mail: alrandolph@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, January 2014

_MG_6575-Raucci

Frank Raucci, Ph.D.
(Clive Baumgarten, Ph.D.)
E-mail: rauccifj@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements,
October 2009

SoumyaGovindaRemeshSoumya Govinda Remesh, Ph.D.
(Carlos Escalante, Ph.D.)
E-mail: remeshsg@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, August 2014

Ernesto_Solis

Ernesto Solis, Ph.D.
(Louis De Felice, Ph.D.)
E-mail: esolis3@vcu.edu Degree awarded by Vanderbilt University) Completed Requirements,  November 2012

 

songbk2Bjorn Song, Ph.D. 
(Roland Pittman, Ph.D.)
E-mail: songbk2@vcu.edu 

Completed Requirements, December 2010

 

Tyler SteeleTyler Steele, Ph.D.
(Jose Eltit, Ph.D.)
E-mail: twsteele2@vcu.edu

 

Gregory_Sturz Gregory Sturz, Ph.D.
(Rakesh Kukreja, Ph.D.)
E-mail: gsturz@mcvh-vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, May 2013

avarma

Amit Varma, Ph.D.
(Rakesh Kukreja, Ph.D)
E-mail: avarma@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, November  2012

ChrisWaiteChristopher B. Waite
(Lei Zhou, Ph.D.)
E-mail:  waitecb@vcu.edu

CrystalWest

Crystal West, Ph.D.
(Shyama Masilamani, Ph.D.)
E-mail: westca@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, June 2011

_MG_6315-Yannaccone

Andrew Yannacone , Ph.D.
(Roland Pittman, Ph.D.)
E-mail: yannacconeat@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, February 2012

JasonYounkinJason W. Younkin
(Diomedes Logothetis, Ph.D.) E-mail: younkinjw@vcu.edu

Amr Ellaithy

(Diomedes Logothetis, Ph.D)

Vinaykumar Idikuda
(Lei Zhou, Ph.D.)

E-mail: idikudav@vcu.edu

Guoqing Xiang 

(Diomedes Logothetis Ph.D.)

Completed requirements December 14th 2018

 Junghoon Ha

(Diomedes Logothetis, Ph.D.)

Completed requirements Janurary 3rd 2018

Alumni (M.S.)

 

Abdul Kareem, Mohamed Aarif, M.S.
(Javier Maeso, Ph.D.)
E-mail: abdulkareemma@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, Spring 2020

Joseph S. Aliaga, M.S.
(Antonio Abbate, Ph.D.)
E-mail: aliagajs@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, Summer 2020

ReemAlkhataniReem Alkahtani, M.S.
(Srinivasa Karnam, Ph.D.)
E-mail: alkahtanir2@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, June 2011

Virali M. Bhagat, M.S.
(Maria Teves, Ph.D.)
E-mail: bhagatvm@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, Summer 2020

Bishop, ClaytonClayton Bishop
(Carlos Escalante, Ph.D.)
E-mail: bishopcm2@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, Summer 2014

Ninu Bruno
(Guy Cabral, Ph.D.)
E-mail: brunon2@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, Fall 2015

 

Bruzek, AmyAmy K. Bruzek, M.s.
(Off-site - Mayo Clinic)
E-mail:  bruzekak@vcu.edu

Graduated Summer 2014

RickChainaniRick Chainani, M.S. 
(John Grider, Ph.D.)
E-mail: chainanirk@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, September 2013
Courtney Chmielewski, M.S.
 (Martin Mangino, Ph.D.)
E-mail: chmielewskic@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, Summer 2020
Cvitkovic, RomanaRomana Cvitkovic, M.S.
(Lewis Laboratory)
E-mail: cvitkovicr@vcu.edu

Graduated Summer 2014

Yogesh Dhakal, M.S. 
(Stefano Toldo, Ph.D.)
E-mail: dhakaly@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, Summer 2020

ShreyaDesai

Shreya Desai, M.S. 
(Hivo Miyazaki, Ph.D.)
E-mail: sdesai@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, August, 2012

SamiDodhySami C. Dodhy, M.S.
(Roland Pittman, Ph.D.)
E-mail: dodhysc@vcu.edu

 

Completed Requirements, May 2013

 Dwyer, HollyHolly Dwyer
(Lewis Laboratory)
E-mail:  dwyerh@vcu.edu


Graduated Summer 2014

BrittanyField_000 Brittany Field, M.S. 
(Andrew Yeudall, Ph.D.)
E-mail: fieldbl@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, December 2012

Scott FilipponeScott M. Filippone
(Rakesh Kukreja, Ph.D.)
E-mail: filipponesm@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, April 2015
EverettFoxW. Everett Fox, M.S.
(Carlos Villalba-Galea, Ph.D.)
E-mail: foxwe@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, July 2013

Daniel_Gardiner

Daniel Gardiner, M.S. 
(Christina Marmarou, Ph.D.)
E-mail: gardinertj@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, May 2011

 

MS Student - Fiza HashmiFiza Hashmi
(Liya Qiao, Ph.D.)
E-mail: hashmif@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, 
July 2015

Alexander M. Hirsch, M.S. 
(Rakesh C. Kukreja, Ph.D.)
E-mail: hirscham@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, Summer 2019
Ashkhan Hojati, M.S.
 (Jose M. Eltit, Ph.D.)
E-mail: hojatia@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, Summer 2019
Sahak E. Hovsepian, M.S. 
 (Fadi N. Salloum, Ph.D.)
E-mail: hovsepianse@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, Summer 2020
NormHurstNorman Hurst, M.S.
(John Grider, Ph.D.)
E-mail: hurstn@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, November  2013

Jin Ha Kim, M.S. 
(Zhao Lin, Ph.D.)
E-mail: kimjh44@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, Spring 2020
YoungKimYoung M. Kim, M.S.
(Dr. Miyazaki)
E-mail: kimym4@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, May 2013
 June Young LeeJune Young Lee
(Hisashi Harada, Ph.D.)
E-mail: leejy7@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, April 2015
 
Manisha_MagarManisha Magar, M.S. 
(Carmen Sato-Bigbee, Ph.D.)
E-mail: magarm@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, August 2011

RubanaMasoodRubanna Masood, M.S.
(Andrew Yuedall, Ph.D.)
E-mail: masoodrs@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, July 2013
Audrey R. McMurtie, M.S. 
(Javier Maeso, Ph.D.)
E-mail: amcmurtrie@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, Summer 2020
Alden Newcomb
(Bruce Spiess, M.D.)
E-mail:  newcombah@vcu.edu

Graduated Summer 2014
 

Huong L. Nguyen, M.S.
(Valeria Mas, Ph.D.)
E-mail: nguyenhl2@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, May 2011

Vy T. Nguyen, M.S.
(Jose Eltit, Ph.D.)
E-mail: nguyenv4@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, Summer 2019

 

Doan On, M.S. 
(Javier Maeso, Ph.D.)
E-mail: ondm@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, Spring 2020

Gyu_Park_000Gyu Park , M.S. 
(Diomedes Logothetis, Ph.D.)
E-mail: parkgt@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, August 2011

 

AlexanderPhillip-cropped

Alexander Philip, M.S.
(Valeria Mas, Ph.D.)
E-mail: alex.cheep@gmail.com

Completed Requirements, June 2011

Nora T. Poulos, M.S. 
(William C. Broaddus,M.D, Ph.D )
E-mail: ntocheny@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, Summer 2019
 

 

Righi, SamuelSamuel M. Righi
(Siddartha Ghosh, Ph.D.)
E-mail:  righism@vcu.edu


Graduated Spring 2014

Rostami, SoheilSoheil Rostami
(Lewis Laboratory)
E-mail: srostami@vcu.edu


Graduated Summer 2014

Ruchala, MonikaMonika Ruchala
(James Bennett, M.D., Ph.D.)
E-mail: ruchalam@vcu.edu

Graduated Summer 2014

Zohra_Saleh

Zohra Saleh , M.S. 
(William Yeudall, Ph.D.)
E-mail: salehz@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, August 2011

     

CourtneySchlenker

Courtney D. Schlenker, M.S. 
(Janina Lewis, Ph.D.)
E-mail: schlenkercd@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, June 2011

Sneha ShahSneha R. Shah
(Diomedes Logothetis, Ph.D.)
E-mail: shahsr2@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, April 2015

Smith, DavidDavid M. Smith
(Lewis Lab)
E-mail:  smithdm28@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, Fall 2015

Zachary R. Spires, M.S.
(Jose Eltit, Ph.D.) 
E-mail: 

Completed Requirements, Summer 2020
Dong Jin Suh, M.S.
(Roland Pittman, Ph.D.)
E-mail: suhd@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, Summer 2019

Shawn Sunu
Shawn Y. Sunu
(Edward Lesnefsky, M.D.)
E-mail: sunusy@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, April 2015
Hiba Z. Vohra, M.S. 
(Javier Maeso, Ph.D.)
E-mail: vohrahz@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, Summer 2019

Niluka Wickramaratne, M.S.          
(Martin Mangino, Ph.D.)
E-mail: nwickramaratn@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, Spring 2019

ChulhoYangChulho (Chris) Yang, M.S.
(Diomedes Logothetis, Ph.D.)
E-mail: yangc2@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, July 2013

Sharon_YuSharon Yu, M.S. 
(Liya Qiao, Ph.D)
E-mail: yus5@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, June 2011


 Tyler Hendon

(Diomedes Logothetis Ph.D) 

 

 

 

Ph.D. Alumni (2017)

TuoxinCao_000Tuoxin Cao 
(Scott Ramsey, Ph.D.)
E-mail: caot2@vcu.edu
Michael DavisMichael Davis 
(Bruce Rubin, M.D.)
E-mail: mdavis35@vcu.edu
Iwona RuchalaIwona Ruchala
(Jose Eltit, Ph.D.)
E-mail: ruchalai@vcu.edu
Vishaka SantoshVishaka Santosh
(Carlos Escalante, Ph.D.)
E-mail:  santoshv@vcu.edu

Rudy Toneatti

(Javier Gonzalez-Maeso, Ph.D.)

E-mail:Rudy.Toneatti@vcuhealth.org 

 



 

M.D./M.S. Students (Year Out)

Loren Liebrecht
E-mail: liebrechtlk@vcu.edu

Andrew Rock
E-mail: arock@vcu.edu‌‌

 

M.S. Students(2016-2017)

William P AdamsWilliam P. Adams
(Stefano Toldo, Ph.D.)
E-mail: adamswp@vcu.edu
Balan,Bharat - Fadi LabBharat Balan
‌(Fadi Salloum, Ph.D.)
E-mail: balanb@vcu.edu
Catherman, ColinColin Catherman
(John R. Grider, Ph.D.)
E-mail: cathermancm@vcu.edu
Hojati, DeannaDeanna Hojati
(Vijay Lyall, Ph.D.)
E-mail: hojatid@vcu.edu
Kim, Sung WooSung Woo Kim
(Hisashi Harada, Ph.D.)
E-mail: kims63@vcu.edu
Liles, Alexander Alexander Liles 
(Roland Pittman, Ph.D.)
E-mail: lilesac@vcu.edu
May, AlexanderAlexander May 
(John S. Grider, Ph.D.)
E-mail: mayat2@vcu.edu
Narayan, PratyushPratyush Narayan 
(Stefano Toldo, Ph.D.)
E-mail: naryanp2@vcu.edu
Will, Alex H.Alex Will 
(Montserrat Samso, Ph.D.)
E-mail: willah@vcu.edu
Parkash, MeetaMeeta Prakash 
(Anindita Das, Ph.D.)
E-mail: prakashm@vcu.edu
Shah, HabibaHabiba Shah 
(Rolland Pittman, M.D.)
E-mail: shahh2@vcu.edu
Shah, NikhilNikhil Shah 
(Lei Zhou, Ph.D.)
E-mail: shahnn4@vcu.edu
Sitta, RamseyRamsey Sitta 
(Jose Eltit, Ph.D.)
E-mail: sittar@vcu.edu
Spengler, JoeJoseph Spengler 
(John R. Grider, Ph.D.)
E-mail: spenglerjr@vcu.edu
Talegaonkar, SoniaSonia Talegoankar 
(Zhao Lin, B.D.S., M.S., M.M.S., Ph.D.)
E-mail: talegoankars@vcu.edu
Victor De La Rosa JimenezVictor De La Rosa Jimenez, Ph.D.
(I. Scott Ramsey, Ph.D.)
Phone: (804) 628-4576
E-mail: vdelarosajime@vcu.edu 
Supriya A. Gaitonde, Ph.D.
(Javier Maeso, Ph.D.)
Phone: (804) 628-4520
E-mail: Supriya.Gaitonde@vcuhealth.org
 

 

 

 

 

Summer Undergraduate Research Program (SURP) 2015

Khade GrantKhade Grant
(Lei Zhou, Ph.D.)
E-mail: grantkl@mymail.vcu.edu
Bri-Ana JohnsonBri-Ana Johnson
(Roland Pittman, Ph.D.)
E-mail: b_johnson8@salemstate.edu‌                                        
Aamir AkbaraliAamir Akbarali
(Carlos Escalante, Ph.D.)
E-mail: ahakbarali@email.wm.edu
Maria GhawjiMaria Ghawji
(Diomedes Logothetis, Ph.D.)
E-mail: mghawji@alfaisal.edu
Hala HasaneinHala Hasanein
(Carlos Escalante, Ph.D.)
E-mail: hhasanein@alfaisal.edu
Adithi KrishnamoorthyAdithi Krishnamoorthy
(Gea-Ny Tseng, Ph.D.)
E-mail:krishnamooa2@mymail.vcu.edu
Josh ChiuJosh Chiu
(Louis DeFelice, Ph.D.)
E-mail: chiujsj@mymail.vcu.edu
Anna HegelerAnna Hegeler
(Qinglian Liu, Ph.D.)
E-mail: hegelera@mymail.vcu.edu
Kelsey HideshimaKelsey Hideshima
(Qinglian Liu, Ph.D.)
E-mail: hideshimaks@mymail.vcu.edu
Ashkhan HojatiAshkhan Hojati
(Diomedes Logothetis, Ph.D.)
E-mail: hojatia@mymail.vcu.edu
Darius HossainianDarius Hossainian
(Liya Qiao, Ph.D.)
E-mail: hossainiand@mymail.vcu.edu
Paul Pottanat
(Fadi Salloum, Ph.D.)
E-mail: pottanatpj@mymail.vcu.edu
Lisa Yanwei LiLisa Yanwei Li
(Qinglian Liu, Ph.D.)
E-mail: yli9@wellesley.edu
Shiva RingsShiva Rings
(Diomedes Logothetis, Ph.D.)
E-mail: ringsss@mymail.vcu.edu

                                DOCTORAL STUDENTS IN PHYSIOLOGY AND BIOPHYSICS (1999-2010)