Distinguished Lecturers in Physiology

2014 - 2015:  H. Peter Lu, Ph.D.,  NMDA Receptor Ion Channel Dynamics in Living Cells by a Novel Single-Molecule Patch-Clamp FRET Microscopy: Revealing the Multiple Conformational States Associated with a Channel at Its Electrical Off State

2013 - 2014:  Martin Chalfie, Ph.D., Touch Sensing in C. elegans: Transduction and Modulation

2012 - 2013:  Joachim Frank, Ph.D., The Ribosome as a Brownian Machine

2011 - 2012: Brian Kobilka, M.D., Structural Insights into the Dynamic Process of G Protein Coupled Receptor Activation

2010: Bert Sakmann, M.D., Ph.D., Anatomy and Physiology of Decision Making in a Rodent Brain

2009: Wayne A. Hendrickson, Ph.D., Transduction of Biochemical Signals Across Cell Membranes

2008: David E. Clapham, M.D., Ph.D. TRP Channels in Vesicular Trafficking

2006: Garret A. FitzGerald, M.D.  It is not what you eat, but when you eat it.  The role of peripheral clocks in metabolic and cardiovascular function.

2004: John A. Williams, M.D., Ph.D. Regulating the Supply of Pancreatic Digestive Enzymes: A Mealtime Affair

2002: Gordon M. Shepherd, M.D., D. Phil. The Neural Basis of the Sense of Smell

2000: Knut Schmidt-Nielsen, Dr. Phil., Dr. Med. h.c. In Search Of Regulation:  How Are Controlled Systems Controlled?

1999: Rodollfo R. Llinas, M.D., Ph.D. The Role of Calcium in Synaptic Transmission

1998: Heinz Valtin, M.D. Pathophysiology of Vasopressin: Lessons from Genetic Models of Diabetes Insipidus

1997: Andrew P. Somlyo, M.D. From Membranes to Myosin: Calcium, G-Proteins, Kinases and Phosphatases

1996: F. Norman Briggs, Ph.D. What makes some skeletal muscles fast and others slow?

1995: Judah Folkman, M.D. Regulatory Mechanisms of Physiologic and Pathologic Angiogenesis

1994: Harry Fozzard, M.D. In Search of the Sodium Channel Structure

1993: Ernst M. Wright, D.Sc. Intestinal Sugar Absorption: Molecules to Membranes to Man

1992: Bert W. O’Malley, M.D. Molecular Pathways for Activation of Intracellular Receptors in Animal Cells

1991: Robert F. Furchgott, Ph.D. Endothelium-Derived Relaxing Factor: Survey and New Developments

1990: Gerald M. Edelman, M.D., Ph.D., D.Sc. Topobiology:  Molecular Bases of Neural Morphogenesis

1989: Isidore S. Edelman, M.D. Hormonal Regulation of the Na+/K+ Pump

1988: Ernst Knobil, Ph.D. The Neural Control of Ovulation

1987: Bertil Hille, Ph.D. Ionic Channels: Evolution, Function and Diversity

1986: Sir Andrew Huxley, O.M., F.R.S. Forgetting and Rediscovery in Muscle Research


Acknowledgement:  The Distinguished Lectureships are supported in part by the McChesney Goodall Fund of the Medical College of Virginia Foundation

VCU Department of Physiology and BiophysicsVirginia Commonwealth UniversityVCU Medical Center
Video Gallery