Department Directory

Alumni (Ph.D.)

adneysk Scott Adney, Ph.D.
(Diomedes Logothetis, Ph.D.)
E-mail:  adneysk@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, October 2013

_MG_6246-Al-Shboul Othman Al-Shboul, Ph.D.
(Srinivasa Karnam, Ph.D.)
E-mail: alshboulo@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, April 2011

Mohammed_Alqudah Mohammed Alqudah, Ph.D.
(John Grider, Ph.D.)
E-mail: alqudahma@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, April 2013

Aluri Hema Aluri, Ph.D.
(Edward Lesnefsky, Jr., M.D.)
E-mail: alurihs@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, April 2013

_MG_6446-Anderson

Charles Anderson, Ph.D.
(John Grider, Ph.D.)
E-mail: andersoncd2@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, April 2011

_MG_6278-Bakos_000 Stephen Bakos, Ph.D.
(Richard Costanzo, Ph.D.)
E-mail: bakossr@vcu.edu Completed Requirements, November 2010

 

_MG_6407-Bednarek

Melissa Bednarek, Ph.D.
(Paul Ratz, Ph.D.)
E-mail: bednarekml@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, July 2009

bhattachars2

Sayak Bhattacharya , Ph.D.
(Murthy Karnam, Ph.D.)
E-mail: bhattachars2@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, October 2012

KrasnodaraCameron Krasnodara Cameron
(De Felice Lab)
E-mail: stoychevakn@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, February 2015
connerymd Michael Connery, Ph.D.
(Roland Pittman, Ph.D.)
E-mail:  connerymd@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, October 2013
_MG_6578-Deng

Wu Deng, Ph.D.
(Clive Baumgarten, Ph.D.)
E-mail: dengw@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, July 2009

desaipn Pooja Desai, Ph.D.
(Clive Baumgarten, Ph.D.)
E-mail: desaipn@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, April 2013
CandiceHatcher Candice Hatcher
(Diomedes Logothetis, Ph.D.)
E-mail: hatchercn@vcu.edu

 Divya Prasanna Kumar
(Murthy Karnam, Ph.D/Arun Sanyal, M.D.))
E-mail: dprasannakum@vcu.edu
Completed Requirements, November 2014

V00232955_Li_Yan

Yan Li, Ph.D.
(John Grider, Ph.D.)
E-mail: liy2@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, November 2009

rahul_mahajan Rahul Mahajan, M.D., Ph.D.
(Diomedes Logothetis, Ph.D.)
E-mail: mahajanr@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, October 2012

uzoma_mba M. Uzoma Mba
(Drs. Catherine Dumur and Vladimir Vladimirov.)
E-mail: mbamuu@vcu.edu
Completed Requirements, August 2014

_MG_6398-McClain Justin McClain, Ph.D.
(Helen Fillmore, Ph.D.)
E-mail: mcclainja@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, April 2009

_MG_6556-Chaudhari Nikita Mishra, Ph.D.
(Scott Walsh, Ph.D.)
E-mail: chaudharina@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, May 2010

mousaaa Ahmad Mousa, Ph.D.
(Scott Walsh, M.D.)
E-mail: mousaaa@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, January 2012

Ancydimpy Nalli -- new
(S. Murthy Karnam, Ph.D.)
E-mail:  nallia@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, September 2015

_MG_6320-Nugent William Nugent, Ph.D.
(Roland Pittman, Ph.D.)
E-mail: nugentwh@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, August 2010

LauraOBrien Laura O'Brien
(James P. Bennett, M.D., Ph.D.)
E-mail: obrienl@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, April 2015

SungPark Sung Park
(Clive Baumgarten, Ph.D.)
E-mail: parksh@vcu.edu

 

vasileiospetrou Vasileios Petrou , Ph.D.
(Diomedes Logothetis, Ph.D.)
E-mail: vasileios.petrou@mssm.edu
(Degree awarded by Mt. Sinai, New York) Completed Requirements, July 2012

_MG_6504-Pinkstaff Sherry Pinkstaff, Ph.D.
(Ross Arena, Ph.D.)
E-mail: pinkstaffso@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, May 2010

Pollok Robert (Bob) Pollock, Ph.D.
(Leon Avery, Ph.D.)
E-mail:  rhpollock@gmail.com

Completed Requirements, May 2013
Aaron_Randolph Aaron Randolph, Ph.D.
(I. Scott Ramsey, Ph.D.)
E-mail: alrandolph@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, January 2014

_MG_6575-Raucci

Frank Raucci, Ph.D.
(Clive Baumgarten, Ph.D.)
E-mail: rauccifj@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements,
October 2009

SoumyaGovindaRemesh Soumya Govinda Remesh, Ph.D.
(Carlos Escalante, Ph.D.)
E-mail: remeshsg@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, August 2014

 

Ernesto_Solis

Ernesto Solis, Ph.D.
(Louis De Felice, Ph.D.)
E-mail: esolis3@vcu.edu Degree awarded by Vanderbilt University) Completed Requirements,  November 2012

songbk2 Bjorn Song, Ph.D.
(Roland Pittman, Ph.D.)
E-mail: songbk2@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, December 2010

 

 

Gregory_Sturz  Gregory Sturz, Ph.D.
(Rakesh Kukreja, Ph.D.)
E-mail: gsturz@mcvh-vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, May 2013

avarma

Amit Varma, Ph.D.
(Rakesh Kukreja, Ph.D)
E-mail: avarma@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, November  2012

ChrisWaite Christopher B. Waite
(Lei Zhou, Ph.D.)
E-mail:  waitecb@vcu.edu

CrystalWest

Crystal West, Ph.D.
(Shyama Masilamani, Ph.D.)
E-mail: westca@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, June 2011

_MG_6315-Yannaccone

Andrew Yannacone , Ph.D.
(Roland Pittman, Ph.D.)
E-mail: yannacconeat@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, February 2012

JasonYounkin Jason W. Younkin
(Diomedes Logothetis, Ph.D.) E-mail: younkinjw@vcu.edu

Alumni (M.S.)

 

ReemAlkhatani Reem Alkahtani, M.S.
(Srinivasa Karnam, Ph.D.)
E-mail: alkahtanir2@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, June 2011

Bishop, Clayton Clayton Bishop
(Carlos Escalante, Ph.D.)
E-mail: bishopcm2@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, Summer 2014

MS Student - Ninu Bruno Ninu Bruno
(Guy Cabral, Ph.D.)
E-mail: brunon2@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, Fall 2015

Bruzek, Amy Amy K. Bruzek
(Off-site - Mayo Clinic)
E-mail:  bruzekak@vcu.edu

Graduated Summer 2014
RickChainani Rick Chainani, M.S.
(John Grider, Ph.D.)
E-mail: chainanirk@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, September 2013
Cvitkovic, Romana Romana Cvitkovic
(Lewis Laboratory)
E-mail: cvitkovicr@vcu.edu

Graduated Summer 2014

ShreyaDesai

Shreya Desai, M.S.
(Hivo Miyazaki, Ph.D.)
E-mail: sdesai@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, August, 2012

 SamiDodhy Sami C. Dodhy, M.S.

(Roland Pittman, Ph.D.)

E-mail: dodhysc@vcu.edu


Completed Requirements, May 2013
Dwyer, Holly Holly Dwyer
(Lewis Laboratory)
E-mail:  dwyerh@vcu.edu


Graduated Summer 2014
BrittanyField_000  Brittany Field, M.S.
(Andrew Yeudall, Ph.D.)
E-mail: fieldbl@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, December 2012

Scott Filippone Scott M. Filippone
(Rakesh Kukreja, Ph.D.)
E-mail: filipponesm@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, April 2015
EverettFox W. Everett Fox, M.S.
(Carlos Villalba-Galea, Ph.D.)
E-mail: foxwe@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, July 2013
 

Daniel_Gardiner

Daniel Gardiner, M.S.
(Christina Marmarou, Ph.D.)
E-mail: gardinertj@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, May 2011

MS Student - Fiza Hashmi Fiza Hashmi
(Liya Qiao, Ph.D.)
E-mail: hashmif@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements,
July 2015
NormHurst Norman Hurst, M.S.
(John Grider, Ph.D.)
E-mail: hurstn@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, November  2013
 YoungKim Young M. Kim, M.S.
(Dr. Miyazaki)
E-mail: kimym4@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, May 2013
 
June Young Lee June Young Lee
(Hisashi Harada, Ph.D.)
E-mail: leejy7@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, April 2015
Manisha_Magar Manisha Magar, M.S.
(Carmen Sato-Bigbee, Ph.D.)
E-mail: magarm@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, August 2011

RubanaMasood Rubanna Masood, M.S.
(Andrew Yuedall, Ph.D.)
E-mail: masoodrs@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, July 2013
Alden Newcomb
(Bruce Spiess, M.D.)
E-mail:  newcombah@vcu.edu

Graduated Summer 2014
 

nophoto_sm Huong L. Nguyen, M.S.
(Valeria Mas, Ph.D.)
E-mail: nguyenhl2@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, May 2011

Gyu_Park_000 Gyu Park , M.S.
(Diomedes Logothetis, Ph.D.)
E-mail: parkgt@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, August 2011

 

AlexanderPhillip-cropped

Alexander Philip, M.S.
(Valeria Mas, Ph.D.)
E-mail: alex.cheep@gmail.com

Completed Requirements, June 2011

Righi, Samuel Samuel M. Righi
(Siddartha Ghosh, Ph.D.)
E-mail:  righism@vcu.edu


Graduated Spring 2014
 

 

Rostami, Soheil Soheil Rostami
(Lewis Laboratory)
E-mail: srostami@vcu.edu


Graduated Summer 2014

Ruchala, Monika Monika Ruchala
(James Bennett, M.D., Ph.D.)
E-mail: ruchalam@vcu.edu

Graduated Summer 2014

     

Zohra_Saleh

Zohra Saleh , M.S.
(William Yeudall, Ph.D.)
E-mail: salehz@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, August 2011

CourtneySchlenker

Courtney D. Schlenker, M.S.
(Janina Lewis, Ph.D.)
E-mail: schlenkercd@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, June 2011

Sneha Shah Sneha R. Shah
(Diomedes Logothetis, Ph.D.)
E-mail: shahsr2@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, April 2015
Smith, David David M. Smith
(Lewis Lab)
E-mail:  smithdm28@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, Fall 2015

Shawn Sunu
Shawn Y. Sunu

(Edward Lesnefsky, M.D.)
E-mail: sunusy@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, April 2015
ChulhoYang Chulho (Chris) Yang, M.S.
(Diomedes Logothetis, Ph.D.)
E-mail: yangc2@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, July 2013

Sharon_Yu Sharon Yu, M.S.
(Liya Qiao, Ph.D)
E-mail: yus5@vcu.edu

Completed Requirements, June 2011

 

 

M.D./M.S. Students (Year Out)

nophoto_sm Loren Liebrecht
E-mail: liebrechtlk@vcu.edu

nophoto_sm Andrew Rock
E-mail: arock@vcu.edu‌‌

Summer Undergraduate Research Program (SURP) 2015

Khade Grant Khade Grant
(Lei Zhou, Ph.D.)
E-mail: grantkl@mymail.vcu.edu
Bri-Ana Johnson Bri-Ana Johnson
(Roland Pittman, Ph.D.)
E-mail: b_johnson8@salemstate.edu‌                                        
Aamir Akbarali Aamir Akbarali
(Carlos Escalante, Ph.D.)
E-mail: ahakbarali@email.wm.edu
Maria Ghawji Maria Ghawji
(Diomedes Logothetis, Ph.D.)
E-mail: mghawji@alfaisal.edu
Hala Hasanein Hala Hasanein
(Carlos Escalante, Ph.D.)
E-mail: hhasanein@alfaisal.edu
Adithi Krishnamoorthy Adithi Krishnamoorthy
(Gea-Ny Tseng, Ph.D.)
E-mail:krishnamooa2@mymail.vcu.edu
Josh Chiu Josh Chiu
(Louis DeFelice, Ph.D.)
E-mail: chiujsj@mymail.vcu.edu
Anna Hegeler Anna Hegeler
(Qinglian Liu, Ph.D.)
E-mail: hegelera@mymail.vcu.edu
Kelsey Hideshima Kelsey Hideshima
(Qinglian Liu, Ph.D.)
E-mail: hideshimaks@mymail.vcu.edu
Ashkhan Hojati Ashkhan Hojati
(Diomedes Logothetis, Ph.D.)
E-mail: hojatia@mymail.vcu.edu
Darius Hossainian Darius Hossainian
(Liya Qiao, Ph.D.)
E-mail: hossainiand@mymail.vcu.edu
nophoto_sm Paul Pottanat
(Fadi Salloum, Ph.D.)
E-mail: pottanatpj@mymail.vcu.edu
Lisa Yanwei Li Lisa Yanwei Li
(Qinglian Liu, Ph.D.)
E-mail: yli9@wellesley.edu
Shiva Rings Shiva Rings
(Diomedes Logothetis, Ph.D.)
E-mail: ringsss@mymail.vcu.edu

                                DOCTORAL STUDENTS IN PHYSIOLOGY AND BIOPHYSICS (1999-2010)

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
VCU Department of Physiology and BiophysicsVirginia Commonwealth UniversityVCU Medical Center
Video Gallery